While watching and loving The Paradise back in autumn 2012, I immediately noticed that it had perfect music, beautiful soundtrack, didn't you? I particularly liked it and thought it was just brilliant match to the gorgeous locations, perfect costumes and gripping story-line. 

Silva Screen Records release the soundtrack for the BBC series The Paradise just today! The set includes a beautiful booklet with images from the BBC drama.

Series 1 of The Paradise was broadcast on BBC 1 from 25 September to 13 November 2012 and is now going to premiere on American PBS on  October 6th.  

No dates yet for series two on BBC1. They are still shooting it in the North of England and promised their fans series 2 for next autumn.

The album released today features selections from the show’s first season composed by Maurizio Malagnini and performed by the BBC Concert Orchestra.   The Paradise is an adaption from the classic French novel by Emile Zola (my review)  and is set in the first department store in the 19th century North East of England. It tells the story of the life and loves of the staff and their customers. 
Bill Gallagher adapted the book for television. The series aired at the end of last year on BBC in the UK and has been renewed for a second season to air later this year. To learn more about the show, visit BBC’s official website.

Joanna Vanderham as Denise and Emun Elliot as Mr Moray
Here’s the album track list:
1. The Paradise Lovebirds
2. The Portrait
3. Children Arrive At The Paradise
4. Impossible Love
5. I Will Ruin You
6. Reception Waltzer
7. Opening The Doors
8. We Will Never Know
9. Denise Is Entering The Paradise
10. Shopgirls
11. Trailer And End Credits
12. I Have Married The Wrong Man
13. Sam Is Innocent
14. Miss Paradise Pink
15. Pauline’s Theme
16. Miss Audrey And Ladieswear
17. Perfume From Morocco
18. Sam Could Lose Everything
19. Audrey And The Baby
20. Denise And Moray
21. Lord Glendenning Owns Everything
22. Miss Audrey Is Unwell
23. The Dark Lake And Jonas
24. Katherine And Moray
25. The Wedding Veil
26. You Are Mine
27. The Hope For Love
28. Denise And Moray Are Falling In Love
29. The Final Kiss
Buy the CD at Silva Screen Records

You can listen to some of the tracks on Maurizio Malagnini's official site 

My favourite ones are 2, 4 and 5 since they remind me of the very romantic moments in the series, but they are all simply brilliant, perfect! I can't wait to get my own copy of the CD.

If you haven't seen the series yet, watch the official BBC trailer,  but be warned... what you hear in the background is NOT the beautiful soundtrack by Maurizio Malagnini!

1 comment:

Tara said...

I've wrote this on my calendar. I love period dramas. Plan to record. I wouldn't have heard about this if you hadn't made this post. Thanks a million.